May 23, 2016
For Immediate Release

Today Secretary of State Kim Wyman released a long list of over 45 bipartisan endorsements from state and county election directors across Washington. These elections experts have endorsed Secretary Wyman’s re-election campaign. 

“I am honored by the diverse support that I have already received during my reelection campaign,” said Secretary of State Wyman. “The fact that over two-thirds of sitting County Election Directors and County Auditors have already endorsed my campaign is a statement of trust that I do not take for granted.”

Headlining the list are all three former Washington Secretaries of State: Ralph Munro, Bruce Chapman, and Sam Reed. Together they represent a combined 36 years leading the office.

“Kim is the only candidate running who is qualified to perform the duties of Secretary of State,” said former Secretary of State Reed. “This is not a job for an inexperienced partisan activist, or a position that permits on-the-job training. The Secretary of State’s office performs one of the most important and sacred duties in state government: ensuring that our elections are run accurately, impartially, and with integrity. Kim is committed to this ideal.”

“Kim’s 23 years administering elections makes her the best in our nation. Other states look to us as a leader in election reform because of Kim’s experience, leadership, and capability,” said former Secretary of State Munro. 

“Secretary of State Kim Wyman has been a champion of voting rights,” said Cowlitz County Auditor Kristina Swanson (D). “Democrats, Republicans, and Independents all ought to support Kim." 

As of this writing, Secretary of State Wyman is the only candidate for Secretary of State who currently has public endorsements from local elections directors and county auditors. The full list of endorsements from current and former elections administrators is below:



Former Secretary of State Sam Reed

Former Secretary of State Ralph Munro

Former Secretary of State Bruce Chapman

Heidi Hunt, Adams County Auditor (R)

Darla McKay, Asotin County Auditor (R)

Brenda Chilton, Benton County Auditor (R)

Skip Moore, Chelan County Auditor (R)

Shoona Riggs, Clallam County Auditor (NP)

Greg Kimsey, Clark County Auditor (R)

Sharon Richter, Columbia County Auditor (R)

Kristina Swanson, Cowlitz County Auditor (D)

Thad Duvall, Douglas County Auditor (D)

Diana Galvan, Ferry County Auditor (R)

Matt Beaton, Franklin County Auditor (R)

Donna Deal, Garfield County Auditor (D)

Michele Jaderlund, Grant County Auditor (R)

Sheilah Crider, Island County Auditor (R)

Brenda Sorensen, Klickitat County Auditor (R)

Larry Grove, Lewis County Auditor (R)

Laurie Thomas, Okanogan County Auditor (R)

Marianne Nichols, Pend Oreille County Auditor (R)

Jeanne Youngquist, Skagit County Auditor (D)

Robert Waymire, Skamania County Auditor (R)

Vicky Dalton, Spokane County Auditor (D)

Tim Grey, Stevens County Auditor (D)

Diane Tischer, Wahkiakum County Auditor (D)

Karen Martin, Walla Walla County Auditor (R)

Eunice Coker, Whitman County Auditor (R)

Charles Ross, Yakima County Auditor (R)

Nancy McBroom, former Adams County Auditor (R)

Evelyn Arnold, former Chelan County Auditor (R)

Ken Housden, former Chelan County Auditor (R)

Cathleen McKeown, former Clallam County Auditor (NP)

Patty Rosand, former Clallam County Auditor (NP)

Darlene Derosier, former Cowlitz County Auditor (D)

David Firebaugh, former Grant County Auditor (R)

Suzanne Sinclair, former Island County Auditor (R)

Jane Hague, former King County Elections Manager (NP)

Gary Zandell, former Lewis County Auditor (R)

Bob Johnson, former Pacific County Auditor (D)

Carla Heckford, former Pend Oreille County Auditor (R)

Jan Shabro, former Pierce County Auditor (R)

Si Stephens, former San Juan County Auditor (R)

Norma Brummett, former Skagit County Auditor (R)

Bob Terwilliger, former Snohomish County Auditor (NP)

Gary Alexander, former Thurston County Auditor (R)

Sam Reed, former Thurston County Auditor (R)

Shirley Forslof, former Whatcom County Auditor (NP)

Corky Mattingly, former Yakima County Auditor (D)

Gary Mcintosh, former Washington State Elections Director (NP)

John Pearson, former Washington State Deputy Elections Director (NP)